Böttger Plaque

The Böttger Plaque has been awarded since 1929 to personalities who have rendered outstanding services to the interaction of industry, science and teaching.
The plaque commemorates Johann Friedrich Böttger (1682‑1719), a naturalist, materials scientist and alchemist, who developed Böttger stoneware in 1707 and European hard porcelain in 1708 with Tschirnhaus and Ohain. In 1710, the Royal Saxon Porcelain Manufactory was founded, the management of which was entrusted to Johann Friedrich Böttger by King August I of Saxony.

A note on the term alchemist:

Justus Liebig already commented in his Chemical Letters in 1844: "Among the alchemists, there was always a core of genuine natural scientists (...). What Glauber, Böttger, Kunckel achieved in this direction can boldly be placed alongside the greatest discoveries of our century.

So far, the Böttger Plaque has been awarded to:

1929 Dr.-Ing. E.h. Ph. Rosenthal
Dr.-Ing. E.h. R. Jungeblut
1930 Prof. E.P. Börner
1932 Prof. Dr.-Ing. E.h. M. Laeuger
1953 Dr. R. Sies
1957 Dr. Dr.-Ing. E.h. G. Cremer
Dr. A. Guilleaume
1971 Dr.-Ing. E.h. L. von Boch-Galhau
1983 Dir. R. Dorschner
1983 Dir. W. Lersch
1987 Dr. H. Müller-Hesse
1992 Dipl.-Ing. F. Pohl
1994 Prof. Dipl.-Ing. P. Fischer
1997 Dr. H. Britsch
2001 Dipl.-Ing. (FH) F.-D. Bley
Dipl.-Ing. (FH) H. Reh
2004 Dr.-Ing. M. Röhrs
2008 Dipl.-Kfm. L. G. von Boch
F.-E. Wirtz
Dr. M. Nebelung
2010 Prof. Dr. A. Roosen
2011 Dr. B. Voigtsberger
2013 P. Eirich
2015 Dipl.-Min. H. Mayer
2020 Prof. Dr. I. Voigt
2022 Dr. K. Berroth
Prof. Dr. R. Diedel
2023 Prof. Dr. G. Klein