Seger Plaque

The DKG has awarded the Seger Plaque since 1929. The plaque honors individuals who have made outstanding scientific achievements in the field of ceramics.

The name "Seger" holds a piece a DKG history: The award refers to Dr. Hermann August Seger (1839‑1893), the German old master of ceramics and inventor of the Seger cone and Seger porcelain. Seger's writings brought German ceramics a high reputation worldwide.

Dr. Seger indicated a scientifically based training and teaching to make traditional experience generally accessible. Until the end of World War I, it was still customary in Germany to guard experience in the production of ceramic materials like a secret. For these reasons, Seger is called one of the pioneers of ceramics.

So far, the Seger Plaque has been awarded to:

1929 Dr. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Heinecke
Dr.-Ing. E.h. E. Cramer
1930 Prof. Dr. R. Rieke
1932 Dr. H. Hecht
1933 Dr. Dr.-Ing. E.h. W. Pukall
1937 Herr Prof. Dr. W. Steger
1939 Prof. Dr. G. Keppeler
1952 Prof. Dr. E. Berdel
Prof. Dr. C. Endell
1955 Prof. Dr. H. Salmang
1957 Prof. Dr. Dr. A. Dietzel
1959 Prof. Dr. H.A.M. Andreasen
1964 Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. U. Hofmann
1966 Dr. Dr.-Ing. E.h. G. Cremer
1969 Prof. Dr.-Ing. H. Lehmann
1981 Prof. Dr. H. W. Hennicke
Prof. Dr.Dr. h.c. H.J. Oel
1983 Prof. Dr. H. Hausner
1987 Dr. F.J. Esper
1992 Prof. Dr. E. Gugel
Dr. A. Lipp
Prof. Dr. K.-H. Schüller
1994 Prof. Dr. B. Frisch
1996 Prof. Dr. G. Ziegler
1997 Prof. Dr. K.H. Härdtl
2004 Prof. Dr. W. Hermel
2005 Prof. Dr. P. Greil
2008 Prof. Mag. Dr. R. Danzer
2009 Prof. Dr. H. Rasch
2010 Dr. R. W. Steinbrech
2011 Dr.-Ing. J. Kriegesmann
2012 Dr.-Ing. U. Klemm
2014 Prof. Dr. J. G. Heinrich
2015 Dr. rer. nat. habil.  A. Krell
Support association "Friedrich Hoffmann", Zehdenick
2020 Prof. Dr. W. Krenkel
Prof. Dr. J. Rödel
2023 Prof. Dr. M. Hoffmann